On Duty to keep us all safe
Latest News

About the Federation / Federation History

The Atomic Energy Police Federation (AEPF) was formed in 1955 to provide a voluntary representative body for the ranks of Constable through to Superintendent, who are members of the United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority Constabulary (UKAEAC).

AEPF represents all of the eligible ranks in the Force.

The Force strength is currently 737 with 602 subscribing members, which represents 82% of eligible ranks.

By its group activities and close links with Force Management the Federation does benefit non-contributing members, but they do not receive any direct financial benefit e.g. Legal Assistance, or any other service provided by the Federation.

Since its establishment the UKAEA Constabulary has enjoyed and maintained parity in all areas of policing and conditions of service, with Home Department Police Forces.

However, there is not at present parity in the treatment of the Atomic Energy Police Federation with those of Home Department and non-Home Department forces, including the Defence Police Federation.

On the 1st April 2005 the Atomic Energy Police Federation (AEPF)was renamed the Civil Nuclear Police Federation (established by act of Parliament).